home » info » Farshid Moussavi and Mona Hatoum named winners of the 2022 Jane Drew and Ada Louise Huxtable Prizes

Farshid Moussavi and Mona Hatoum named winners of the 2022 Jane Drew and Ada Louise Huxtable Prizes

Baca Informasi Tentang : Bahan Kusen Pintu Aluminium

harga pintu aluminium 2 pintu

Architect Farshid Moussavi and artist Mona Hatoum have been named this year’s recipients of the Jane Drew and Ada Louise Huxtable Prizes

British-Iranian architect, educator and writer Farshid Moussavi has been awarded the Jane Drew Prize for Architecture 2022, an award recognising an architectural designer who, through their work and commitment to design excellence, has raised the profile of women in architecture. Moussavi was a co-founder of Foreign Office Architects, famous for the Yokohama International Ferry Terminal which opened in 2002, and founded Farshid Moussavi Architecture (FMA) in 2011. The practice’s works include the Museum of Contemporary Art Cleveland as well as two housing projects in France – Îlot 19 in Nanterre from 2016 and La Folie Divine in Montpellier a year later – and is currently working on the Ismaili Center Houston, due to complete in 2024.

 Farshid Moussavi_Jane Drew Prize_W Awards_Architectural Review_La Folie Divine

Farshid Moussavi Architecture’s La Folie Divine in Montpellier. Photograph by Stephen Gill

‘It is a very great honour for me to receive the Jane Drew Prize, which has done so much to draw attention to the achievements of women in the field of architecture,’ Moussavi said. ‘There are relatively few role models for women in architectural practice and I believe that this allows them freedom to be more creative in responding to the urgent challenges facing architects today, whether these challenges are finding new and more generous uses for buildings, as well as new languages in which to engage a larger and more diverse public, or addressing climate change to protect future generations.’

The lack of a prescriptive style is Moussavi’s strength. Ambivalent about role models but interested in gender and difference as much as in detailing and micropolitics, Moussavi is resolutely turned towards the future and she will continue to surprise us. Read more of Moussavi’s writing for the AR, from planning permission to the architecture of the architecture school.

Museum of Contemporary Art Cleveland Farshid Moussavi Jane Drew Prize W Awards Architectural Review

The Museum of Contemporary Art Cleveland by Farshid Moussavi Architecture, built in 2012. Photograph by Stephen Gill

British-Palestinian artist Mona Hatoum is the winner of the Ada Louise Huxtable Prize for Contribution to Architecture 2022, which recognises individuals working in the wider architectural industry who have made a significant contribution to architecture and the built environment.

Born in Beirut and living in London since 1975, Hatoum’s work is often at an architectural scale and inhabits whole rooms: for example, the cage-like structures of Light Sentence from 1992, the installation of a loom in a room scattered with balls of hair in Recollection from 1995, and the metal bunks of Quarters from 1996. The performance Roadworks from 1985, was at an urban scale, with Hatoum walking through the streets of Brixton with a pair of Dr Marten boots tied to her feet.

In a world fractured by conflict and exile, the work of Mona Hatoum only gains further relevance and importance. Turning familiar objects into uncanny experiences, she makes visible human fragility and spatial violence. Recent exhibitions include major retrospectives at the Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris, in 2015, Tate Modern in London in 2016 and Kiasma Museum of Contemporary Art, Helsinki in 2016. Currently, Hatoum’s work is exhibited at two locations in Stockholm: Magasin III Museum for Contemporary Art in Frihamnen and Accelerator on the campus of Stockholm University.

 Mona Hatoum_Light sentence_Ada Louise Huxtable Prize_W Awards_Architectural Review

Light Sentence, Mona Hatoum, 1992. Image: Mona Hatoum / Locus+ Archive Cardiff / Edward Woodman

The W Awards, in association with The Architectural Review and the Architects’ Journal, raise the profile of women and non-binary people in architecture worldwide, inspiring change as a united voice of this global call for respect, diversity and equality. The awards were started in 2012 to celebrate exemplary work of all kinds: from the design of the world’s most significant new buildings to contributions to wider architectural culture, from lifetimes of achievement to the work of women with bright futures ahead.

Farshid Moussavi and Mona Hatoum are featured in the AR’s March 2022 issue, alongside the Moira Gemmill and MJ Long Prize shortlists.

We are delighted to be joined by 2022 winners Farshid Moussavi and Mona Hatoum at the W Lunch, where they will each give a talk and where the winners of the Moira Gemmill Prize and MJ Long Prize will be announced. Find out more and book tickets here

Lead image: Farshid Moussavi (photograph: Anne Purkiss) and Mona Hatoum (credit: The Japan Art Association / The Sankei Shimbun / Mizuho Miyazaki)

harga plafon pvc per dus

Baca Juga : Kusen Pintu Aluminium Bekasi

Scroll to Top
Open chat
Hi Terima Kasih Sudah Mengunjungi Website kangasep.com, Langsung Open Chat dan Klik Send..Terima Kasih